motorola

Focused Discussion => Radio Programming Hardware and Software => Topic started by: SailorMan on April 21, 2019, 12:03:07 PM



Title: PRO5150 Programming
Post by: SailorMan on April 21, 2019, 12:03:07 PM
Hi there!

I'm trying to program a couple of PRO 5150 radios - I belive they were purchased in Brazil.

Im using a ribless cable with a VGA adapter - marked RKN4075C

I've tried using the Motorola Business Radio Programming Software V 06.00 with the region hack.
When I try to read the radio I get the following error:

"Communication Error for RM and RMM Series Radio, please toggle the USB cable to ANALOG (CPS) mode.
For DLR Series radio, please toggle the USB cable to DIGITAL (Flash) mode.
"

Going through the list of radios in the software, I don't see the PRO5150, even tough this version is what I've found mentioned
in most forums?

I also tried using Professional Radio CPS-R06.12.05-LA, which gives me this error:

"Couldn't open port. Check whether Device/RIB are powered on or not, and the Device to RIB, and the RIB to PC connection is ok".

I tried connecting a GP340 radio. It gave the same error in Motorola Business Radio Programming Software V 06.00.

Using Professional Radio CPS-R06.12.05-LA with the GP340 radio it gives the following error:

"Unsupported model".

Because one program is able to reject the GP340 radio, I believe it's safe to say, that the connection is ok.

Any ideas, comments or suggestions are very welcome!

Best regards,
SailorMan


Title: Re: PRO5150 Programming
Post by: Andreas GH on April 23, 2019, 11:14:42 AM
First check the regionalcode with the Waris Lab Upgradetool.
The Professional Radio CPS-R06.12.05-LA is the right cps for your radio!
If you still have problems,you should use a RIB with a proper programming cable or rum it on a Win 7/XP PC with 32 Bit.

Andreas


Title: Re: PRO5150 Programming
Post by: SailorMan on April 23, 2019, 06:45:05 PM
Hi Andreas,

Thanks for replying

I figured out that the simple and unfortunate issue was that the connection for the cable on the radios, were simply too damaged to communicate with the PC.

I managed to get one radio going. There's another minor issue now though.

It makes a continuous beep when you choose ch. 10 or above.

Would you happen to know, if the radio is capable of utilizing those channels?
I don't really need them - just curios.


Title: Re: PRO5150 Programming
Post by: Andreas GH on April 25, 2019, 06:15:19 AM
This means, 9 channels are programmed.